The University of St.Gallen is one of 25 universities from Switzerland, Austria, Germany and Liechtenstein that belong to the Lake Constance Arts & Sciences Association. Image credit: University of St.Gallen

Lake Constance four-country region promotes innovation

15 May 2024 09:04


Supporting partner

Konstanz - The Lake Constance Arts & Sciences Association (W4) is taking a targeted approach to expediting scientific, business and social innovation. In its first year of operation with a new legal form, it has simplified the practicalities of cross-country cooperation.

The Lake Constance Arts & Sciences Association (W4) is looking back over a successful first year of operation with a new legal form. As a press release explains, the practicalities of cross-country cooperation between institutions and laboratories have been simplified. Research and teaching are more effectively organized within the association, which is the successor to International Lake Constance University.

In the first financial year since its establishment in 2023, W4 has invested €11.7 million in laboratories and €1.7 million in projects, funded by the EU Interreg VI Alpenrhein-Bodensee-Hochrhein (ABH) program. W4 is currently supporting 15 projects, with 279 project participants and 115 practice partners.

The main objectives of cooperation within W4 are to enshrine sustainability in the Lake Constance region, take a collaborative approach to university development, and promote the area’s emerging talent and start-ups.

“We are facing a transformation in our living environment and economic system. W4 is focused on cross-border knowledge and technology transfer and combines commitment with innovation,” says Managing Director Markus Rhomberg.

The Lake Constance Arts & Sciences Association (W4) comprises 25 universities from Germany, Liechtenstein, Austria, and Switzerland with around 115,000 students and more than 20,000 researchers. ce/ww

Supporting partner

Swiss Pavilion Digital

Previous newsletters